Digital Library

Цифрово хранилище

Featured Project

Library of IMI

On 30 March in the Conference Hall of the Institute of Mathematics and Informatics at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences on a solemn ceremony will be awarded Bulgarian winners in the Australian Mathematics Competition for 2015. The ceremony starts at 5 pm.

The winners are Ivan Mavrov, student in 9th grade, and Ivan Tagarev, student in 5th grade. Both are graduates of the Sofia High School до Mathematics "Paisii Hilendarski".

Prizes will be awarded personally by His Excellency John Griffin, Ambassador of Australia to Bulgaria. The event will be attended by the Honorary Consul of Australia in Bulgaria - Mrs. Indiana Trifonova.

Read more ...

British mathematician Sir Andrew J. Wiles receives the Abel Prize


The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2016 to Sir Andrew J. Wiles (62), University of Oxford, “for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory.”

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (about EUR 600,000 or USD 700,000).

Andrew J. Wiles is one of very few mathematicians – if not the only one – whose proof of a theorem has made international headline news. In 1994 he cracked Fermat’s Last Theorem, which at the time was the most famous, and long-running, unsolved problem in the subject’s history.

The Abel Committee says: “Few results have as rich a mathematical history and as dramatic a proof as Fermat’s Last Theorem.”

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted, announced the winner of the 2016 Abel Prize at the Academy in Oslo on 15 March. Andrew J. Wiles will receive the Abel Prize from H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon at an award ceremony in Oslo on 24 May.


Awarding of the winners in the first round of CodeIT


On 28 January this year the Institute of Mathematics and Informatics at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences hosted the award ceremony of the winners in the first round of the popular programming contest CodeIT- "Marathon". IMI is the patron of this round and traditionally awarding with certificates and prizes takes place in the Conference Hall of the Institute. Once again the first prize went to Vladislav Haralampiev. Second and third respectively were Ivan Ganev and Dobrik Georgiev.
CodeIT is a programming contest organized for 15 years by Musala Soft - a leading Bulgarian company in the field of software engineering services specializing in outsourcing, construction of software solutions and IT consulting.
The event was attended by Stefka Ognyanova - representative of Musala Soft, Alexey Hristov, president of the American Foundation for Bulgaria, Acad. Kenderov, chairman of the Union of Bulgarian Mathematicians, acad. Julian Revalski, director of IMI, prof. Peter Boyvalenkov, Deputy Director of IMI, colleagues and friends.

Read more ...

Award in mathematics "Rose and Irving Saff" was founded by prof. Edward Saff from Vanderbilt University, Tennessee, USA, who is a foreign member of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences in memory of his parents.

It is awarded each year to a student in mathematics for high achievements and excellence in mathematics.

Martin Rachev demonstrates excellent progress, in-depth knowledge and skills in his speciality "Applied mathematics" at the Technical University in Sofia.

Read more ...

News Archive