Digital Library

Цифрово хранилище

Featured Project

Library of IMI

After careful consideration of all nominations received, the Prize Committee decided to award the IMI Mathematics Prize for 2017 to Dr. Kiril Datchev, Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Purdue University, Indiana, USA.

Kiril Datchev (born 1983) obtained a PhD from the University of California, Berkeley in 2010 under the supervision of Maciej Zworski. From 2010 to 2014 he was a CLE Moore Instructor and NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at MIT, and during this time he also had shorter visiting positions as a postdoc at MSRI (Berkeley) and at Universite Paris 13. Since 2014 he has been an Assistant Professor at Purdue University.

His research fields are partial differential equations and mathematical physics, and more specifically semiclassical analysis and scattering theory. Datchev's work is described as highly nontrivial and shows his exceptional strength and originality. Part of his results have been obtained jointly with a number of well-known matematicians such as Andras Vasy, Jesse Gell-Redman, Maarten V. de Hoop, Semyon Dyatlov, Maciej Zworski, Tanya Christiansen, Andrew Hassell, Hamid Hezari, Justin Holmer.

IMI Mathematics Prize for 2017 will be awarded to Prof. Datchev at the International Conference Mathematics Days in Sofia (MDS 2017), which will be held from 10 to 14 July in Sofia. The winner will deliver a plenary talk on Wave Asymptotics for Manifolds with Cylindrical Ends.

The IMI Mathematics Prize consists of a plaque accompanied by a certificate and a cash award, for which funds are raised from donations. The amount of the cash award is determined by the Scientific Council of IMI – BAS. For the first time the Prize was awarded for 2014 to Martin Kassabov, Professor at the University of Cornell, USA.

The members of the IMI Prize Committee for 2017 were:

  • Stanimir Troyanski (Institute of Mathematics and Informatics, Sofia, Bulgaria) – Chairman of the Prize Committee.
  • Armen Sergeev (Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia)
  • Luchezar Stoyanov (University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia)
  • Vidar Thomée (Chalmers University of Technology, Goeteborg, Sweden)
  • Efim Zelmanov (University of California at San Diego, USA).

News Archive